Industry News

Revealed: The 2022 Middle East Consultant Award Winners

The eight edition of the annual event recognised key individuals and companies across 23 categories

23 winners were recognised last night at the eight annual edition of the Middle East Consultant Awards (MEC Awards). The 2022 MEC Awards set a significant benchmark through hosting over 300 guests from across the GCC at the Ritz Carlton JBR in Dubai.

According to the editorial team at Middle East Consultant, a total of 209 submissions were received when nominations closed on 18 November. The figure is the second highest number of nominations received for the event, following the 2021 edition’s total of 215.

Discussing the judging process, the editorial team said it went through two rounds of eliminations to create the shortlist and, finally, picked the winners ahead of the gala night.

The judges for the 2022 MEC Awards were: Kareem Farah, Director, ECC Group; Margarita Huaca, Engineer & Sustainable Development Specialist, Enernouva; Benoit Meulewaeter, Chief Technology Officer, Besix 3D; Peter Docwra, Director, G20 Summit, Riyadh and Paul Godfrey, Head of Content, Middle East Consultant.

“The competition between companies and individuals was perhaps the fiercest it has ever been. More and more businesses, regardless of size, sent entries of high quality, and these rewards are no longer just the preserve of very big names,” said Godfrey.

The 2022 Middle East Consultant Awards was supported by several companies including:

Social Media Sponsor: WSP

Gold Sponsor: KEO

Silver Sponsor: AECOM, CCI, Compass, Kingspan Insulation, K Tech Consulting, North 51 Consulting, RSP, Step Engineering, TBH

Category Sponsor: Insinkerator

Network Sponsor: Polypipe Middle East

Supporting Partner: NEB

As the returning social media sponsor for the event, WSP once again hosted a social media selfie competition, the winner of which would walk away with a brand-new Apple Watch. The competition was well received and, ultimately, Noel Casipit, Senior Lighting Designer, Studio Lumen Lighting Design and Consultancy was chosen as the winner at the end of the night.

The full list of categories and winners are as follows:

Under 30 Champion of the Year

  • AECOM – Katy Adubi
  • Buro Happold – Bestan Star
  • JLL – Samit Sheth
  • Ramboll Middle East – Ghina Yamak
  • Serco Experience Lab – Rena Baba

Winner: Katy Adubi – AECOM

Woman in Construction Professional of the Year

  • AECOM – Jennifer Stables
  • AESG – Nivine Issa
  • JLL – Louise Collins
  • Kingspan Insulation – Salma Khedar
  • Tangram MENA – Sandra Woodall

Winner: Louise Collins – JLL

Executive of the Year

  • AECOM – Hamed Zaghw
  • AESG – Scott Coombes
  • Compass Project Consulting – Luke Somerville
  • Dewan Architects + Engineers – Ammar Al Assam
  • Turner & Townsend – Alan Talabani
  • U+A Architects – Mohamad Habsah

Winner: Alan Talabani – Turner & Townsend

Gender Diversity Champion of the Year

  • AESG
  • HKA
  • JLL
  • Silcock Leedham

Winner: JLL

Health & Safety and Wellness Champion of the Year

  • Altorath International Engineering Consultancy
  • Climatize
  • Omnium International

Winner: Omnium International

Dispute Resolution Champion of the Year

  • CCi
  • HKA
  • Inshield
  • Northcroft
  • Omnium Resolve

Winner: HKA

Company of the Year

  • Bainona Engineering Consultancy
  • DLR Group
  • Omnium International
  • Orange Design Group

Winner: DLR Group

Interior Design Company of the Year

  • B8 Architecture and Design Studio
  • Bainona Engineering Company
  • DLR Group
  • MEMAR Architecture

Winner: B8 Architecture and Design Studio

Enterprise Business of the Year

  • Climatize
  • North 51 Consulting
  • Tangram Meta

Winner: North 51 Consulting

Specialist Consulting Company of the Year

  • AESG
  • CCi
  • Endpoint Middle East
  • KTech Consulting
  • Turner & Townsend

Winner: Turner & Townsend

Sustainable Consultancy of the Year

  • Climatize
  • Cundall
  • Freeline Engineering Consultants
  • Sustain Leadership

Winner: Climatize

Cost Consulting Company of the Year

  • Compass Project Consulting
  • JLL
  • Omnium International
  • Rider Levett Bucknall
  • Turner & Townsend

Winner: Omnium International

Lighting Design Consultancy of the Year

  • Glare
  • Nulty
  • Studio Lumen Lighting Design and Consultancy

Winner: Studio Lumen Lighting Design and Consultancy

Project Management Company of the Year

  • Bainona Engineering Consultancy
  • Freeline Engineering Consultants
  • JLL
  • Land Sterling

Winner: JLL

Structural Engineering Company of the Year

  • Bainona Engineering Consultancy
  • DeSimone Consulting Engineers
  • Dewan Architects + Engineers
  • Freeline Engineering Consultants

Winner: Bainona Engineering Consultancy

MEP Engineering Company of the Year

  • Bainona Engineering Consultancy
  • Black & White Engineering
  • Freeline Engineering Consultants
  • Mott MacDonald

Winner: Bainona Engineering Consultancy

Architectural Company of the Year

  • Altorath International
  • B8 Architecture and Design Studio
  • Dewan Architects + Engineers
  • DLR Group

Winner: Dewan Architects + Engineers

Project of the Year – Government & Infrastructure

  • AECOM – Qatar Ministry of Transport, Bus Infrastructure Project
  • Godwin Austen Johnson – Citizens School
  • Pace Middle East – Palace of Justice, Kuwait
  • Trust Engineering Consultancy – Moza bint Mohamed Qur’an and Daawa Center

Winner: Pace Middle East – Palace of Justice, Kuwait

Sustainable Project of the Year: Residential & Commercial

  • Climatize – Damac Lagoons
  • Compass Project Consulting – Bustanica
  • JT + Partners – The W Residences
  • Taka Solutions – Swiss Tower
  • U+A Architects – Villa Amalfi

Winner: Compass Project Consulting – Bustanica

Sustainable Project of the Year: Retail & Public Facilities

  • Altorath – Al Ain Autism Center
  • Climatize – Damac Lagoons
  • Trust Engineering Company – The Cube
  • U+A Architects – Wasl Experience Center

Winner: Wasl Experience Centre – U+A Architects

Sustainable Project of the Year: Hospitality & Tourism

  • AECOM – Habitas Resort
  • Climatize – Amaala Yacht Club
  • Cundall – The Storm Coaster
  • JT & Partners – Syed Al Shuhada
  • Taka Solutions – Fairmont the Palm

Winner: Cundall – The Storm Coaster

MEC’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Peter Westeng, Chairman of Omnium International

Multi-Discipline Consulting Company

  • Bainona Engineering Consultancy
  • Cundall
  • Egis
  • KEO International Consultants
  • LC & Partners Project Management and Engineering

Winner: Egis

The MEC Awards will return in 2023 – to read more about the 2022 Middle East Consultant Awards, click here.

5 1 vote
Article Rating


Most Popular

To Top
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x